Posted by William Nunnelley on 2003-11-06

The Samford University Interior Design program has received the maximum accreditation available from the Foundation for Interior Design Research: six years.

FIDER is the accrediting body for interior design programs in the U.S. and Canada. A FIDER site team of educators and practicing professionals visited Samford last April and the organization's board granted the accreditation at its October meeting.

Accreditation is based on a Program Evaluation Report that takes 12-15 months to complete. The report takes a look at how a program compares with 12 overall FIDER professional standards comprised of 126 areas of evaluation. Educational standards, faculty, administration and facilities are addressed.

"The visiting team was very complimentary," said Interior Design Department Chair Jeannie Krumdieck. "They noted the high quality of our students, with their strong communications skills in both graphic and oral areas."

Other factors cited were the program's strength in three-dimensional development, its art background requirement, the professionalism of faculty and "the overwhelming support we receive from the local professional design community and administration," she said.

Samford is only the third Alabama interior design program to earn FIDER accreditation. The other two are at the University of Alabama and Auburn University. About 175 schools are accredited in the U.S. and Canada.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.