Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2004-11-17

Seven Alabama Baptist ministers were honored for their outstanding service by Samford University Wednesday, Nov. 17. Presentations were made at Samford's 2004 Minister of the Year breakfast during the annual meeting of the Alabama Baptist State Convention.

Honorees were nominated by their congregations on the basis of service as an effective and consistent model of leadership in the local church, denominational involvement and missions and evangelism support.

"Knowing what their responsibilities are on a week-to-week basis, it is good to have congregations affirm their pastors by nominating them to receive Samford's Minister of the Year Awards," said Dr. Pat McFadden at the breakfast. "Samford is pleased to cooperate in this recognition."

McFadden, pastor of First Baptist Church, Fort Payne, is chairman of Samford's Board of Ministerial Mentors and a former Minister of the Year honoree. He assisted Samford president Dr. Thomas E. Corts in making the presentations.

McFadden acknowledged each winning pastor's individual devotion and sacrifice in their home churches and communities.

This year's honorees in the various categories are: Dr. Ed Litton, First Baptist Church, North Mobile, 1,000 or more members; Dr. Scott Ferguson, Westview Baptist Church, Opp, 300-999 members; Dr. Paul Smith, Romar Beach Baptist Church, Orange Beach, 300 or less members; Dr. Gary Farley, Director of Missions, Pickens Association, Town and Country Association; Ed Cruce, Director of Missions, Bessemer Association, Metro Association; Don Whigham, Silas First Baptist Church, bi-vocational; and Charles R. Woods, Sr., First Baptist Church, Albertville, retired.

Each received a plaque recognizing their achievement.