Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2004-08-31

The Samford University faculty includes 24 new members as the school’s 163rd academic year gets underway. Classes began Aug. 30. Samford’s newest faculty members, are, by school:

Howard College of Arts and Sciences---Nancy C. Biggio (former adjunct professor), assistant professor of political science; Charlotte Brammer (former adjunct professor), assistant professor of communication studies; Angela D. Ferguson, assistant professor of German; Gregory A. Kawell, instructor of computer science; P. Andrew Montgomery, visiting assistant professor of classics; Brian R. Toone, assistant professor of computer science; W. Jason Wallace (former adjunct professor), assistant professor of history; Daniel W. Williams, visiting assistant professor of journalism; and Darlene R. Wright (former adjunct professor), assistant professor of sociology.

School of Business---William H. Belski, assistant professor of accounting; Charles M. (Chad) Carson, instructor of business; John D. Hansen, visiting instructor of marketing; and Jeremy P. Thornton, assistant professor of economics.

Beeson School of Divinity---Wilton H. Bunch (former adjunct professor), professor of divinity; and Paul R. House, associate dean and professor of divinity.

Orlean Bullard Beeson School of Education and Professional Studies---Amanda C. Strong, assistant professor of special education.

Cumberland School of Law---Elizabeth A. Kleinberg, visiting assistant professor of law.

Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing---D. Beth Babin, assistant professor of nursing; Sylvia W. Edwards, assistant professor of nursing; and Audrey Oyama, assistant professor of nursing.

McWhorter School of Pharmacy---Michael D. Hogue, assistant professor of pharmacy practice; Stacy Ann Lauderdale, assistant professor of pharmacy practice; Angela D. Roberts, assistant professor of pharmacy practice; and Emily I. Warren, assistant professor of pharmacy practice.

New members of the administration who are beginning their first full academic year at Samford are associate provost J. Mark Bateman, academic grants officer Terry S. Morgan, aerospace studies assistant professors Richard S. McAlister and Dennis S. Norton; and alumni relations officer Billy Ivey.


About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.