Posted by William Nunnelley on 2005-04-14

Former Alabama Governor and retired law professor Albert Brewer and attorney and trustee H. Hobart Grooms, Jr., of Birmingham will serve as co-chairs of the Samford University Presidential Search Committee that will identify candidates to succeed retiring President Thomas E. Corts.

The 17-member committee is comprised of trustees, faculty members, alumni and one former trustee. The members, in addition to the co-chairs, are:

Sarah C. Latham, director, institutional research, Samford, who will serve as secretary of the search committee.

Mary Lynne Capilouto, Class of 1973, dean emeritus, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry, Birmingham.

Charles T. Carter, Class of 1956, trustee and retired pastor, Shades Mountain Baptist Church, and James H. Chapman Fellow of Pastoral Ministry, Samford.

S. Earl Dove, trustee, president, The Earl Dove Company, Dothan.

John W. Duren, Class of 1963, chairman, Samford Board of Overseers, president, Duren Associates, Inc., Savannah, Ga.

Rosemary M. Fisk, Class of 1977, associate dean, Howard College of Arts and Sciences, Samford.

Robert Holmes, Jr., trustee, senior vice president, Ethics and Business Practices, Alabama Power Company, Birmingham.

Richard D. Horsley, former trustee, vice chairman and chief operating officer, Regions Financial Corporation, Birmingham.

W. Mike Howell, professor, biology, Samford.

Eric L. Motley, Class of 1996, special assistant to the president, Washington, D.C.

John C. Pittman, Class of 1944, trustee, associate, Pittman Financial Partners, Birmingham.

Charles D. Sands, IV, Class of 1993, assistant professor and chair, exercise science and sports medicine, Samford.

W. Clark Watson, Class of 1981, Cumberland School of Law, attorney and partner, Balch & Bingham, LLP, Birmingham.

William J. Stevens (ex-officio), class of 1970, chairman, Samford Board of Trustees, president and chief executive officer, Motion Industries, Birmingham.

C. Thomas Houser (ex-officio), vice chairman, Samford Board of Trustees, chief operating officer, BAE SYSTEMS, Analytical Solutions, Huntsville, Ala.

An additional person will be appointed to the committee, Stevens said.