Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2005-09-01

Samford University will host a mass communication workshop for high school media staff members and advisors Thursday, Sept. 15.

The annual event is sponsored by Samford's journalism/mass communication department with funding support from the Alabama Press Association Journalism Foundation.

A panel of professionals will share information about a variety of communication-related careers. Panelists include: Carol Nunnelley, director of the Associated Press Managing Editor's National Credibility Roundtables and former managing editor of The Birmingham News; Fran Curry, NBC-13; Lynn Smelly, O2 Ideas; and Kay Fuston, Coastal Livingmagazine. Caroline Catlett, a Samford journalism/mass communication major, will moderate.

Nunnelley will also lead a workshop session on journalistic ethics. Other workshop topics are newspaper and magazine writing, Web site writing, sports reporting, newspaper design, magazine design, digital photos, broadcast journalism and student media promotion/advertising/management.

Registration check-in will begin at 8:15 a.m. in Dwight Beeson Hall lobby. The careers panel will begin at 9 a.m. in the same building. Lunch will be available in the Samford food court or cafeteria. The program will conclude at 1:50 p.m.

Cost, excluding lunch, is $4 per student. Advisors attend free. Registration deadline is Friday, Sept. 9. For more information, call the Samford journalism department at (205) 726-2465.