Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2005-10-20

Samford University's Community Banking School (CBS) graduated 19 bankers from 14 Alabama counties Thursday, Oct. 20. The graduates have completed two years of courses sponsored by the Samford School of Business and the Community Bankers Association of Alabama.

John Harrison, superintendent, Alabama State Banking Department, spoke at a graduation ceremony and luncheon.

CBS offers management education to Alabama bankers. Classes provide intensive study of all aspects of community banking, including customer service and bank operations, loans and regulations, and bank management. Samford business professor John Venable is director.

This fall's graduates are: Heath Blevins, North Jackson Bank, Stevenson; Brooke G. Brooks, Small Town Bank, Wedowee; Amy Butler, Merchants Bank, Cullman; Julie Carroll, Farmers & Merchants Bank, Piedmont; Leigha M. Cauthen, Community Bankers Association of Alabama, Montgomery; Rhonda Garrett, First Metro Bank, Russellville; Mary Hull, Citizens Bank of Winfield; Jeanene Keith, First State Bank, Ashland; Jacki S. Langley, Small Town Bank, Ranburne; Shannon G. Lollar, Traders & Farmers Bank, Haleyville; Tanya McCarthy, First Metro Bank, Muscle Shoals; Andrew McCay, Traders & Farmers Bank, Haleyville; Russell A. Mitchell, First American Bank, Athens; Norma Nolen, Covington County Bank, Andalusia; Sandy Parker, Merchants Bank, Cullman; Cheryl Calhoun Reed, AmeriFirst Bank, Montgomery; Charles M. Seale, The Citizens Bank, Greensboro; Angie Thornburg, Farmers & Merchants Bank, Jacksonville; and Deborah Young, Farmers & Merchants Bank, Piedmont.


About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.