Posted by Mary L. Wimberley on 2006-04-10

Ashley LaRae Martin of Odenville was named Samford University's 2006 student employee of the year during an April 7 ceremony.

A senior communication studies major, Martin works as a student assistant in Samford's Office of Freshman Life. She received a plaque presented by Samford president Thomas E. Corts and a $200 gift certificate. She is the daughter of Glenda and Frank Martin.

Nominees for the award were evaluated on reliability, quality of work, initiative, attitude, longevity, adaptability and uniqueness of contribution.

In nominating Martin for the award, Freshman Life director Dana Basinger cited her maturity, intelligence and attention to detail. "Even more important is Ashley's pleasant disposition at the office," wrote Basinger in her nomination letter, noting how critical the attributes are in an office that deals with many callers and visitors from outside the university. "Ashley has become an integral part of the team here in the Office of Freshman Life-so much that we will be quite lost when she graduates this May," said Basinger.

The competition was held in conjunction with National Student Employment Week. More than 1,000 Samford students work in on-campus jobs.

Other nominees for the Samford honor were Kristin Diane Calder, Sarah J. Fort, Brittany Gregg, Chandra Hein, Megan Marr, Sarah Ruth Spires and Brittany Stillwell.