Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2006-03-01

Five instrumentalists and a vocalist will perform in Samford University's Concerto-Aria Tuesday, March 14, at 7:30 p.m. in Wright Center Concert Hall. The public is invited free of charge.

The performers, all students in Samford's School of Performing Arts, Division of Music, were chosen for the honor in auditions held earlier this year. The 49-piece Samford Orchestra, conducted by Samford Dean of Performing Arts Dr. Milburn Price, will accompany the soloists.

Performers are: Adam Truesdale, trombone; Drew Pournelle, tenor; Paul Vest, cello; Cahill Smith, piano; Laura Lynch, alto saxophone; and Dawson Hull, piano.

Truesdale, a senior music education major from Albany, Ga., will play Lars-Erik Larsson's Concertino for Trombone and String Orchestra.

Pournelle, a senior voice major from Soperton, Ga., will sing Jules Massenet's La reve (En fermant les yeux, from Manon); and Gioacchino Rossini's Ecco ridente in cielo (from The Barber of Seville).

Vest, a senior instrumental music major from Branchville, will play Antonin Dvorak's Cello Concerto in B Minor.

Smith, a sophomore piano major from Tallassee, will play Robert Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54.

Lynch, a senior instrumental music major from Montgomery, will play Erland von Koch's Saxofonkonsert.

Hull, a senior piano major from Jackson, Tenn., will play Peter Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor.