Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2006-10-17

Samford University's Community Banking School will graduate 16 Alabama bankers Thursday (OCT. 19). The graduates, representing banks in 12 counties, have completed two years of courses sponsored by the Samford School of Business and the Community Bankers Association of Alabama.

Samford provost and executive vice president Dr. Brad Creed will speak at the luncheon ceremony.

The CBS program , established in 1993, offers management education to Alabama bankers. Classes provide intensive study of all aspects of community banking, including customer service and bank operations, loans and regulations, and bank management. Samford business professor John Venable is director.

This fall's graduates are: Kelly Adams, Peoples Independent Bank of Boaz; Lisa Baggett, Cullman Savings Bank; Michael Cassidy, First Southern State Bank, Stevenson; Jennifer Davis, First National Bank of Brundidge; Ramona Eargle, Cullman Savings Bank; David Franklin, First State Bank, Lineville; Pam Gamble, First Financial Bank, Woodstock; Gail Hunt, Peoples Independent Bank of Boaz; Sheila Hunt, First Community Bank of Central Alabama, Wetumpka; Paul Jadwin, Nexity Bank, Birmingham; Sondra Malkmus, First American Bank, Hartselle; Susie Potts, First National Bank of Central Alabama, Aliceville; Tracy Smith, Bank of Evergreen; Althea Thomas, Merchants Bank, Jackson; Pam Waldrop, First State Bank, Lineville; and Brian Waters, First Financial Bank, West Blocton.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.