Posted by Philip Poole on 2006-07-19

Approval of new faculty and routine business highlighted the July 18 quarterly meeting of Samford University's trustee executive committee. The committee represents the full 45-member board of trustees between regular meetings of the board.

Thirteen new faculty members were approved for the 2006-07 academic year, including previously announced new deans in the schools of pharmacy and performing arts, as well as department chairs in journalism/mass communications and world languages and cultures, and additional faculty in law, Spanish, management, music and teacher education.

New faculty directors were approved for the Institute for Public Health and Pharmacy and the Global Center in Beeson Divinity School.

Trustees approved 89 students for summer graduation and gave routine approval to revised financial documents that require the signature of new Samford President Andrew Westmoreland. Westmoreland became president June 1 following the retirement of Thomas E. Corts.

Approval was given to connect Neal Road and Shelburne Lane for better access to West campus residence facilities. Construction of the new Pete Hanna Arena has necessitated changes in parking and traffic flow that will be eased by the new connection, trustees were told. The change also was recommended by City of Homewood fire officials.

Preliminary reports from the fiscal year end on May 31 are strong, Westmoreland reported to trustees. Although the official financial audit will not be completed until later in the summer, the university's total invested assets and endowment as of May 31 were about $274 million. Annual giving to Samford during the 2005-06 fiscal year was more than $20 million.

The next meeting of the board of trustees is Sept. 14-15.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.