Posted by Mary Wimberley (written by student Maegan Wilson) on 2007-09-26

Samford's Alpha Alpha chapter of Kappa Pi International Art Fraternity inducted its newest members on September 19, in Samford's art gallery. Fifteen students received certificates and pins for their achievements and will receive honors cords for graduation.

Students who are eligible to be part of the fraternity are art majors, have taken 20 hours of credit in art classes and maintained a B average in art subjects or have a year's worth of professional work in an art field. Nominees are usually juniors or seniors.

This year's new members include sophomore graphic design major Kaitlin Conway of Maitland, Fla.; senior art major Caitlin Fuller of Birmingham, Ala.; senior art major Colby Hooper of Mayo, Fla.; senior graphic design major Dana Kaita of Dothan, Ala.; senior graphic design major Deanna Kaneshiro of Kaneohe, Hawaii; sophomore art major Holly Long of Macon, Ga.; senior graphic design major Branden Lower of New Market, Tenn.; junior graphic design major Rebecca Mayhall of Jackson, Tenn.; senior graphic design major Kimberly McDaniel of Clanton, Ala.; senior graphic design major Jessika Mejia-Depass of Flower Mound, Texas; senior graphic design major Robert Miller of Glasgow, Ky.; junior art major Morgan Montague of Sugar Land, Texas; senior graphic design major Sarah Murray of Hendersonville, Tenn.; junior graphic design major Christopher Nager of Daphne, Ala.; and junior graphic design major Kelly Towne of Fruitland Park, Fla.

Associate members, members from the community who are active in the chapter, and lifetime members, members from the community, were present at the induction ceremony. All of these members are involved in art and are monetary supporters of Samford's art department and its goal to become nationally known. Associate members include Denise Corbin, Elizabeth Brown, Ann Bruno, Madeline Busby, Linda Dunn, Elaine Giambrone, Vicki Godfrey, Rose Lee, Polly LeVert, Janie Llewellyn, Mary Margaret Roll and Robin Demaree Snyder. Lifetime members include Sue Jackson, Carol Rainey and Cheryle Dickerson Hayes. Supporter Bonnie Bolding Swearingen was also present at the event.

Kappa Pi has been part of Samford's honors societies since the 1940s. Professors and associate members Mary White and Dr. Mary Ann Culotta are the fraternity's sponsors. Mejia-Depass is interim president until elections are conducted for new student officers and liaisons from the associate and lifetime members.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.