Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2007-03-07

Birmingham financial advisor Gregory R. Powell was recently elected chair of the Samford University School of Business Advisory Board. Powell is president and CEO of Fi-Plan Partners LLC.

Gary C. Wyatt, president, Gary C. Wyatt construction company, Birmingham, was elected board vice-chair.

The 42-member advisory board provides expertise, counsel and support of the business school's academic programs and external initiatives.

Other board members from Birmingham are Thomas D. Armstrong, Brian Barksdale, John Bell, Harry B. Brock III, Bennie W. Bumpers, Stephen M. Chazen, Gary M. Cooney, Willard L. Dean, Bill Dixon, Della Fancher, Randall J. Freeman, Brenda M. Hackney, Paul E. Hardin, James L. Hart, Gregory R. Hodges, Philip L. Hodges, J. Fred Kingren, C. Ken McPherson, Jr., Carl Edwin Miller III, Malcolm Miller, Scott Myers, Mickey Newsome, W. Randall Pittman, Jamelle Kabase Shaw, John H. Sherman III, Robert Lee Smith, Jr., William J. Stevens, Tim Taylor, Jose Antonio Valencia and Alton E. Yother.

The board also includes Thomas K. Albrecht, Montgomery; William C. Armistead, Jr., Columbiana; Lynn Boggs, Norcross, Ga.; C. Keith Herron, Nashville, Tenn.; Paula Hovater, Roswell Ga.; Rod Hovater, Roswell, Ga.; Keith Kirkland, Brentwood, Tenn.; Marlene M. Reed, Waco., Texas; Brian Sharp, Brentwood, Tenn.; and Gregory J. Taylor, Marietta, Ga.

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.