Posted by Philip Poole on 2007-01-25

Samford University honored 106 employees with 1,145 years of combined service Jan. 23 at the annual Service Awards luncheon.

Three faculty members were recognized for 35 years of teaching: James Brown, history; Charles "Bo" Cole, law; and James Haggard, chemistry.

Honored for 30 years of teaching were Timothy Banks, music; Joseph Blackburn, law; and Alexander Bolla Jr., law. Receiving awards for 25 years were Bruce Foster, pharmacy, and Rebecca Watt, nursing.

Those honored for 20 years were James Burson, computer and telecommunication services (CTS); Ed Cherry, library; Timothy Covington, pharmacy; David Foreman, math and computer science; Roger Lander, pharmacy, James Lewis Jr., law; Judith McAlister, law; Mike McCormack, business services; Paula Tillery, law library; and Lavone Warren, law.

In the group honored for 15 years were Janet Alexander, nursing; Sherry Baldone, CTS; Geri Beers, nursing; Charles Booth, Public Affairs Research Council of Alabama; Amanda Borden, communication studies; Charlotte Coleman, world languages and cultures; Michael Floyd, law; Jacqueline Goldstein, psychology; Larry Harper, business; Patricia Harris, law; Dennis Jones, journalism and mass communication; Ed Landers, media center; Jimmy Tillette, athletics; Linda Vandiver, campus safety; and John Venable, business.

Recognized for 10 years of service were Daphne Carr, education; Norfleete Day, divinity; Aaron Farrow, facilities services; Rosemary Fisk, English; Ginger Frost, history; Kathey Gassner, business; Maurine Gauthier, law; Julie Gustafson, English; Alan Hargrave, CTS; Connie Hataway, nursing; Randolph Horn, political science; Wayne Kendrick, athletics; Joel Landry, CTS; Gwen Marshall, nursing; Jane Martin, nursing; Deb McNeal, student affairs; Mary Monk-Tutor, pharmacy; James Reburn, business; Darlene Robbins, divinity; Doug Smith, business; Sonya Stanley, math and computer science; and Debbie Whitcomb, CTS.

Additionally, 51 were honored for five years of service.

Samford has 748 full-time employees.