Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2007-06-26

Samford seeks nominations for Alabama Baptist Minister of the Year and Layperson of the Year honorees.

Nominees for 2007 Minister of the Year may serve any size church or be retired, bi-vocational or a director of missions. Selection criteria include service as an effective and consistent model of leadership in the local church, denominational involvement and missions and evangelism support.

The Layperson of the Year award recognizes an individual who has provided faithful service to God through his or her Alabama Baptist congregation.

Deadline for nominations is Aug. 17. Honorees will be honored at a luncheon during the fall meeting of Samford Board of Ministerial Mentors on Monday, Oct. 1, at Samford.

Nominators should supply a supporting letter outlining reasons why their nominee should receive the award. Mail to: Dr. Ron Wilson, University Relations, Samford University, Birmingham, AL 35229.

Last year's honorees were Dr. Terry Cutrer, senior pastor, Moffett Road Baptist Church, Mobile; and layperson co-winners Roy Anderson of South Roebuck Baptist Church, Birmingham, and Ralph Derryberry of First Baptist Church, Selma.

For information, contact Dr. Wilson by phone, (205) 726-4200, or email,