Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2007-01-24

About 300 college journalists from throughout the southeast will arrive at Samford University Thursday (JAN. 25) for the Southeast Journalism Conference (SEJC).

Students and faculty from 27 colleges and universities in five states will meet for three days of lectures and hand-on workshops on various aspects of print and broadcast journalism.

The event is co-sponsored by Samford's Department of Journalism and Mass Communication and the University of Alabama at Birmingham's Office of Student Media.

Keynote speakers are sports writer and talk show host Paul Finebaum and New Orleans Times-Picayune city editor David Meeks, whose newspaper won a 2006 Pulitzer Prize for its coverage of Hurricane Katrina. Meeks, a Huntsville native, is a former reporter for The Birmingham News. 

Finebaum will speak at a noon awards ceremony on Friday. Meeks will speak at a noon awards ceremony on Saturday.

Participants will receive advanced, hands-on classes in today's cutting-edge computer software. Other topics include web design, blogging, podcasting, writing and publication design, and graphics.

Students will engage in on-site competitions in categories ranging from copy editing to media law to television anchoring.

Samford journalism professor Dr. Dennis Jones and Amy Kilpatrick of UAB's Office of Student Media are faculty co-presidents of SEJC. Student co-presidents are Lauren Welty and Megan Voelkel of Samford and Molly Folse of UAB.