Posted by Kara Kennedy on 2008-07-14

Samford University's Brock School of Business today announced that Beck A. Taylor, dean, was appointed to the Board of Governors of the international honor society Beta Gamma Sigma.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is considered the highest honor that can be received by a student attending a business program accredited by AACSB International: The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The mission of the organization is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to foster personal and professional excellence, to advance the values of the society and to serve its lifelong members.

Chartered in 2000, the Brock School of Business chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma extends invitations annually to the top 10 percent of current year juniors and seniors, along with the top 20 percent of students receiving graduate degrees. Each fall and spring, the Brock chapter sends student members to student leadership forums sponsored by Beta Gamma Sigma. Further, each year, two student members are selected by the school's Scholarships and Awards Committee to receive Richard D. Horsley Beta Gamma Sigma Scholarships, endowed by a generous gift from Mr. Horsley.

Taylor is one of 20 corporate and academic representatives worldwide who have been elected to serve a two-year term on the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is elected by the delegates at the Biennial Convention. The Board of Governors functions as a board of directors, providing oversight for the Society between conventions.

"Our dean's election to the Board of Governors of Beta Gamma Sigma is an enormous honor for Samford University, the Brock School of Business, and our chapter," said Steven T. Jones, Associate Professor of Finance and president of the Brock School chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma. "It is also a recognition of the esteem in which our dean is held by his peers at other AACSB-accredited schools. His service on the board will provide valuable exposure for the Brock School, and is yet another external validation of the school's strong and growing reputation."

About the Brock School of Business at Samford University:

The renaming of the Samford School of Business to the Brock School of Business in December 2007 is the latest in a long history of achievements for business education at Samford, which has offered degrees in business and commerce since 1922. In 1965, the School of Business was established to offer both bachelor's and master's degrees in business. Alabama's first part-time master of business administration degree program was established at Samford, and the first MBA degrees were awarded in 1967. The master of accountancy degree was approved in 1995. The business school was fully accredited by AACSB International in 1999, a recognition earned by less than 10 percent of business schools worldwide.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.