Posted by Philip Poole on 2008-05-29

Samford University's board of trustees recently approved promotions for 16 faculty members and tenure for 11. Four retired faculty were granted emeritus status.

Promoted to full professor were Janet G. Alexander, Geri W. Beers and Arlene N. Hayne, nursing; Carol D. Dean, teacher education; Eric J. Fournier, geography; Cynthia F. Lohrke and Robert William (Bill) Service, business; Robert H. Schrimsher, pharmacy; and Frederick M. Shepherd, political science.

Promoted to associate professor were Alyssa A. DiRusso and Marcia L. McCormick, law; Scott Fisk, art; Betsy B. Holloway, business; T. Scott McGinnis, religion; Angela Owusu-Ansah, teacher education; and Valerie Prince, pharmacy.

In addition to promotions, Fisk, Hayne, Holloway and Owusu-Ansah were granted tenure. Also receiving tenure were Bernie Ankney, department chair and associate professor of journalism, Howard College of Arts and Sciences; Franz T. Lohrke department chair and associate professor of management and marketing, David L. Loudon, professor of management and marketing, and Stefan Norrbin, Dwight Moody Beeson Professor of Business, Brock School of Business; Ronald Shinn, professor of music, and Larry Thompson, department chair and associate professor of art, School of the Arts; and Teresa A. Wilborn, associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences, McWhorter School of Pharmacy.

Named as emeritus professors were W. Mike Howell, biology; Janice Lasseter, English; and Marlene M. Reed, business. Joseph O. Dean, pharmacy, was named dean emeritus.

The appointments are effective with the 2008-09 academic year.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.