Posted by William Nunnelley on 2008-10-14

Samford University's Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing presented Master of Science in Nursing hoods to 22 nurse anesthesia graduate students in a ceremony marking the completion of their anesthesia education program Friday, Oct. 10.

The graduates are now eligible to sit for the national Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) exam.

Mary E. Boyer received the Agatha Hodgins Award as the outstanding student scholar in the class. Cynthia S. Bass received the Resa Culpepper Award given for student professionalism.

The Hodges Chapel ceremony marked Samford's fourth graduating class of nurse anesthetists since the start of the program in 2002. The 28-month course of study was developed to help meet a critical national need for Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists.

The program is open to holders of the bachelor of science in nursing degree from an accredited program with a minimum of a year's experience in acute nursing care who qualify. Dr. Mary C. Karlet is chair of the nurse anesthesia department in the nursing school.

In addition to Boyer and Bass, the anesthesia graduates included Kimberly R. Aday, Eric L. Bryant, Matthew A. Douglas, Leigh Ann R. Edmonds, Charles A. Harvey, C. Shane Hayslip, Alison F. Herren, Carol M. LaRocca, James E. Magee, J. Brian May, Susan H. Mitchell, Susanne R. Owens, Sharon E. Parker, Kenneth M. Preston, Allison C. Robinson, J. David Stewart, Vanessa F. Tulao, Joy W. Wagers, Allison C. Woolley and Joseph M. Wright.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.