Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2008-02-11

Samford University pianist Kathryn Fouse and bass G. William Bugg will perform Thursday, Feb. 21, at 7:30 p.m. in Brock Recital Hall. The public is invited free of charge to the event, presented as part of the Samford School of Performing Arts' faculty recital series.

Dr. Fouse will play "Au Matin" and "The Fourth Mazurka" by Benjamin Godard and a selection of Valentine Waltzes by George Antheil.

Dr. Bugg will sing "Le Cor" by Ange Flegier, "Chanson Triste," "Soupir" and "Le Manoir de Rosemonde" by Henri DuParc; and four songs by Leslie Adams based on the poetry of African-American poets: "Prayer," "The Heart of A Woman," "Night Song," and "Since You Went Away."

Adams, says Bugg, is one of today's most prolific composers of contemporary art songs.

"Some of his songs reflect the style and heart of the traditional African-American spiritual, while others are fresh, new creations of vocal art unique unto themselves," said Bugg, adding that Adams' solo vocal music stands out as "uniquely expressive and engaging."

"All of his music is imbued with a sense of depth and feeling that makes the performance of them enormously satisfying to both the audience and the performer," said Bugg.

The program will conclude with pieces from the Broadway musical Shenandoah, including "Meditation," "The Pickers are Coming," and "I've Heard It All Before."

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.