Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2008-10-02

Members of Samford University's McWhorter School of Pharmacy Class of 2012 will be recognized during a White Coat ceremony Friday, Oct. 3, at 1 p.m. at Shades Mountain Baptist Church.

The 123-member class, which includes students from 12 states and one foreign nation, is beginning a four-year professional curriculum that leads to a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. The students completed two or more years of undergraduate coursework prior to entering pharmacy school.

The ceremony will include the presentation of a white coat to each student and the taking of the pledge to the American Pharmaceutical Association's code of professionalism. Each student will be assisted by a personally-selected professional mentor.

The induction ceremony will be led by interim pharmacy dean Dr. Charles D. Sands III and pharmacy professors Dr. David R. Luthin, Dr. Amy E. Broeseker, Dr. Timothy E. Welty and Dr. H. Anthony McBride.

The program will include a talk by 2005 McWhorter pharmacy graduate Patrick Devereux, Pharm.D. Devereux is manager of FMS Pharmacy in Bessemer and clinical services director for its parent company, Family Medical Services, Inc. He is on the board of the Jefferson County Pharmacy Association and is active in state and national pharmacy associations.

A reception in Ingalls Hall on the Samford campus will follow the ceremony.

The McWhorter class of 2012 was chosen from 1,171 applicants. The pharmacy school enrolls a total 501 students.