Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2008-06-03

Dr. Gary Bumgarner received the 2008 Margaret Self Propst Pharmacy Teacher of the Year Award at Samford University's McWhorter School of Pharmacy.

The award recognizes enthusiasm, availability to students, and service as a mentor and professional role model. The recipient is chosen by vote of the pharmacy student body. Bumgarner, associate professor of pharmaceutical sciences, joined the McWhorter faculty in 2001.

The award was presented at a recent ceremony honoring Samford pharmacy students, faculty and alumni for outstanding achievement.

Other faculty awards went to Dr. Bruce Waldrop, most effective lecturer; Dr. Susan Alverson, "extra mile"; Dr. Teresa Wilborn, best motivator; and Dr. Marshall Cates, pharmacy role model.

Dr. Kim Benner was named faculty Preceptor of the Year. Allison Gaither, a registered pharmacist at Lakeshore Pharmacy, received the non-faculty Preceptor of the Year award.

Patrick Devereux, a 2005 pharmacy graduate, received the Carl Wayne Shaddix Pharmacy Practitioner of Excellence Award. The honor recognizes an outstanding graduate of less than five years. Devereux, clinical services director of Family Medical Services, Inc., serves on the Jefferson County Pharmaceutical Association board of directors.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.