Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2008-06-12

Four new members have been elected to the Samford University Board of Overseers. They are: financial consultant Thomas D. Armstrong, Samford pharmacy dean emeritus Dr. Joseph O. Dean, Jr., attorney John M. Floyd and attorney J. Fred Kingren, all of Birmingham.

The new members met as part of the 47-member board for the first time at its spring meeting in late May.

Newly-elected board officers are Greg Hodges of Birmingham, chairman; Jack Stewart of Louisville, Ky., vice chairman; and Ronnie Wynn of Montgomery, secretary.

The Samford Board of Overseers is a group of men and women of leadership and influence from around the nation who provide advice and counsel to the President and Trustees of the University.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.