Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2008-04-08

James Andrew "Drew" Davis has been elected 2008-09 president of the Samford University Student Government Association.

A junior political science major from Raleigh, N.C., Davis was elected last week by vote of the undergraduate student body.

Beebe Ray "Bee" Frederick III, a sophomore from Montgomery, was elected vice president for senate.

Re-elected to their student executive council posts for the next academic year were Allyson Dewell of Mableton, Ga., vice president for events; Lee J. Ross, Jr., of Pelham, vice president for programming; and Madeleine Mula of Mandeville, La., vice president for development.

Two executive positions, chief of staff and chief justice, will be appointed later.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 66th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 104th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,683 students from 47 states and 19 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.