Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2008-02-29

Samford University will host a day-long program, Alabama Women Shaping Public Policy, Tuesday, March 11. The event is the second annual women's conference presented by the Birmingham Area Consortium on Higher Education (BACHE).

Specialists in a variety of issues pertinent to the lives of women will participate as speakers and panelists.

Topics include access to critical services for women and children, support for adolescent girls and leadership by women for women. Panelists will cover themes of healthcare, education, transportation and current social issues such as eating disorders.

Alabama state representative Patricia Todd, associate director, AIDS Alabama, will deliver the keynote address at 9 a.m.

Priscilla Hancock Cooper, writer, performer, producer and vice president of institutional programs, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, will be the noon luncheon presenter.

The program begins with registration in Samford's Harrison Theatre at 8:30 a.m. and concludes at 3:30 p.m. An optional post-conference event will be a visit to the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute for a viewing of Lives of Courage: Women Seeking Freedom and Justice in a World of Black and White at 5:30 p.m.

Registration is $50. Deadline is Friday, March 7. For registration information, visit the website at or call the Samford Metro Programs office at (205) 726-2898.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.