Posted by Philip Poole on 2008-10-27

Samford University's board of trustees executive committee elected new faculty members and heard a series of routine reports as part of their regularly scheduled meeting Oct. 21.

Four new faculty members were approved:

Hind Hamid, instructor in pharmacy. He received his doctor of pharmacy degree from Samford and a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from Beirut University.

Michael David Manasco, serials librarian in the Lucille Beeson Law Library. He has bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa.

Ami White Teague, assistant professor of pharmacy practice. She earned the doctor of pharmacy degree from the University of North Carolina.

Darin W. White, associate professor of marketing, effective in August 2009. White has a doctor of philosophy degree in marketing from the University of Alabama.

Charles D. Sands III, acting dean of the McWhorter School of Pharmacy was appointed as the Fred E. McWhorter Chair of Pharmacy.

The executive committee also heard updates on endowment earnings, enrollment management and budget planning. Harry B. (Buck) Brock III, Samford's vice president for business affairs, told trustees that the university's administration is continually monitoring how current economic situations might impact the university both short- and long-term.

The next full meeting of the board of trustees is Dec. 2.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.