Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2009-02-27

Six of Samford University's top student musicians will perform Tuesday, March 10, in the school's annual Concerto-Aria concert. The public is invited to the 7:30 p.m. performance in Wright Center Concert Hall. Admission is free.

The Samford School of the Arts students were selected for the honor during competitive auditions held among the school's music majors. The soloists will be accompanied by the Samford Orchestra.

This year's winners are soprano Haley Longino, violinist Eliza Pirosca, pianist Young-Bin Song, pianist Cindy St. Clair, marimbist Evelyn Stagnaro and tenor Alan Taylor.

Longino, a senior vocal performance major from Jacksonville, Fla. will sing Je marche sur tous les chemins from Jules Massenet's Manon.

Pirosca, a sophomore violin and vocal performance major from Romania, will play Kabalevsky's Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (Vivace giocoso).

Song, a senior psychology major from Birmingham, will play George Gershwin's Concerto in F for Piano and Orchestra.

St. Clair, a senior piano performance major from Vestavia Hills, will play Edward A. MacDowell's Piano Concerto No. 2 in D Minor (Larghetto calmato).

Stagnaro, a sophomore percussion major from Annapolis, Md., will play Alan Hovhaness' Fantasy on Japanese Wood Prints.

Taylor, a junior voice major from Marietta, Ga., will sing Lonely House from Kurt Weill's Street Scene.

Dr. Milburn Price will conduct the accompanying Samford Orchestra.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.