Posted by Kara Kennedy on 2010-04-12

Earlier this week, AACSB International officially announced that Samford University’s Brock School of Business has successfully maintained its accreditation for its undergraduate, Master of Business Administration, and Master of Accountancy degree programs.

AACSB International is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools.  AACSB accreditation is the hallmark of excellence in business education and has been earned by less than five percent of the world’s business schools.

“Our reaffirmation of business accreditation is a testament to our faculty and staff who work tirelessly to help maintain the highest standards to ensure that we offer quality curricula to our students,” said Beck A. Taylor, dean of the Brock School of Business.

Achieving accreditation requires a process of rigorous internal and external review, and continuous improvement efforts in order to meet the 21 standards AACSB requires.  Some of those include: a high quality teaching environment, a commitment to continuous improvement, and curricula responsive to the needs of business.

Samford University Provost, J. Bradley Creed, added: “An accreditation review provides the opportunity for a school both to improve its academic program and also demonstrate the quality of its academic program.  This was a robust and rigorous multi-year process of preparation and planning, so the reaffirmation of accreditation by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business is a testament to the quality and high academic standards of the Brock School of Business.”
About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.