Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2010-01-28

The Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame seeks nominations for its 2010 induction class. Deadline for nominations is March 8.

The Hall of Fame recognizes Alabama men who have made significant contributions on a state, national or international scale. All nominees must be native to or closely identified with Alabama and have been deceased for at least two years.

The Hall of Fame, established by the Alabama legislature in 1987, is housed at Samford University.

A total of 62 men have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Honorees include Wynton Malcom “Red” Blount, George Washington Carver, Braxton Bragg Comer, William Crawford Gorgas, Thomas Wesley Martin, the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Raphael Semmes, Wernher Von Braun and Joseph Wheeler.

For a nomination form and list of all inductees, check the Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame website.

Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee designated by the Hall of Fame board. The full board, which represents Alabama’s seven congressional districts, will vote on nominees.

A formal induction ceremony will be held in Birmingham in September.

Nominations must be postmarked by March 8, 2010, and mailed to Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 292307, Samford University, Birmingham, AL 35229. For more information, contact Annette Green at (205) 879-3935.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.