Posted by William Nunnelley on 2010-08-13

Samford University has named three new department chairs and an interim chair in preparation for the start of the fall semester Aug.30.

Dr. Alan D. Hargrave has been named chair of the Department of Physics in the Howard College of Arts and Sciences.  At Samford since 1996, Dr. Hargrave served as chief information officer in the Office of Technology Services before becoming a full-time member of the physics department in 2009.  He holds the Ph.D. degree from Baylor University and B.S. and M.S. degrees from Trinity, Tex., University.

Michael D. Hogue has been named chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice in McWhorter School of Pharmacy.  Hogue joined the Samford faculty in 2004.  He holds the B.S. and Pharm.D. degrees from Samford.

Dr. Kristie B. Chandler is the new chair of the Department of Family Studies in the Orlean Bullard Beeson School of Education and Professional Studies.  A Samford faculty member since 2007, she holds the Ph.D. degree from the University of North Texas and B.B.A. and M.Ed. Degrees from Mississippi State University.

Dr. Bruce A. Waldrop has been appointed interim chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical, Social and Administrative Sciences in McWhorter School of Pharmacy.  At Samford since 2003, he holds the Ph.D. from the University of Kentucky and B.S. from Samford.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.