Published on April 14, 2010 at 7 p.m. by Philip Poole  

Samford University’s office of communications has received regional and national awards recently for projects completed in 2009.

Samford won nine awards in the prestigious DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards competition and four awards in the Wilmer C. Fields Awards Competition. Both awards ceremonies were April 7 in Chicago. Earlier, Samford earned two awards in the District III awards competition sponsored by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

For the second consecutive year, Seasons magazine won the Best of Class award in the periodicals division in the DeRose-Hinkhouse competition.

Other DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards won by Samford:

Award of Excellence, National magazine: Office of Communications staff, Seasons

Award of Excellence, Logo/Branding Development: Scott Camp, Samford University new logo design

Award of Excellence, posters: Scott Camp, Breaking Ground: Church Planters Sharing the Struggles and Successes

Award of Excellence, miscellaneous design: Stephanie Sides, We Happy Few poster

Aware of Merit, Special Print Materials: Scott Camp, The Faith We Confess: Fall 2009 Community Worship

Award of Merit, Brochures: Scott Camp, Breaking Ground: Church Planters Sharing the Struggles and Successes

Award of Merit, Website Design: Carissa Bradley, Samford After Sundown website

Award of Merit, Radio program single segment: Lauren Womack, Spotlight Samford: NorthStar Ministries

Wilmer C. Fields Awards won by Samford:

First Place Award, Video Magazine: Office of Communication staff, The Samford Chronicle

Second Place Award, Website: Carissa Bradley, A Campaign for Samford website

Second Place Award, Logo Design: Scott Camp, Samford University new logo design

Honorable Mention, Website Template: Carissa Bradley, Samford After Sundown website

CASE District III awards won by Samford:

Award of Excellence, World Wide Web Home Page Design and Implementation: Carissa Bradley, Donna K. Fitch and Rachel Carden, Samford University website

Special Merit Award, Overall Website Design and Implementation: Rachel Carden and David Chapman, Howard College of Arts and Sciences website

The DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards are presented each year by the Religion Communicators Council (RCC), an international interfaith association of more than 600 religion communicators working in print and electronic communication, marketing and public relations. The 2010 awards were judged by faculty of Eastern Illinois University. The Fields Awards are presented annually by the Baptist Communicators Association, a national organization of communications professionals. This year’s awards were judged by media professionals and academics in the greater Oklahoma City area. CASE District III awards are judged by higher education peers and media professionals in the southeastern U.S.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.