Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2010-11-01

Samford University’s 2010 Homecoming Court has been chosen by vote of the members’ respective classes. The honorees will participate in the school’s “Sweet Home Samford” Homecoming celebration this weekend, Nov. 5-7.

Court members are: freshmen Rachel Gregory of Brentwood, Tenn., and Ben McGlamery of Grayson, Ga.; sophomores Abby Sander of Jacksonville, Fla., and Holmes Hill of Memphis, Tenn.;  juniors Lizzy Bryan of Ooltewah, Tenn., and Jeremy Towns of Dolomite, Ala.; and seniors Olivia Bosshardt of Leesburg, Fla., Sarah Cottingham of Marietta, Ga., Terra Garmon of Gadsden, Ala., Dan Hall of Madison, Miss., Jake McPherson of Fayetteville, Ga., and David Saunders of Norcross, Ga.

The Homecoming queen and king will be chosen from the senior representatives. The winners will be announced at halftime of the Samford football game against Wofford on Saturday. Kickoff is 2 p.m. in Seibert Stadium.

Homecoming events will include a variety of activities for students and alumni. An on-campus parade at 11 a.m. on Saturday will feature Homewood mayor Scott McBrayer, a 1992 Samford graduate and former student government president, as grand marshal.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 66th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 104th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,683 students from 47 states and 19 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.