Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2010-02-22

Emily Morris Hawes, a fourth-year student at Samford University’s McWhorter School of Pharmacy, was named the 2010 recipient of the Joseph O. Dean, Jr., Student Professionalism Award presented by the Alabama Pharmacy Association (APA).

The award is given annually to recognize a pharmacy student in Alabama who possesses a high level of professionalism, is a true leader in pharmacy and non-pharmacy endeavors, and is a visionary in the areas of future pharmacist functions and healthcare programs.

Hawes was cited for her many academic and pharmacy-related accomplishments as well as her involvements beyond the classroom. She received a plaque at the APA mid-winter conference on Jan. 20, and a $500 donation was made in her name to the APA student scholarship fund.

As an undergraduate student, Hawes was a varsity soccer player at Samford, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in sports medicine in 2006. In the summer of 2009, she spent five weeks as the first McWhorter pharmacy student to serve an international rotation at a hospital in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Hawes will receive a Doctor of Pharmacy degree at Samford in May.

The award is named for Dr. Joe Dean, a longtime leader in Alabama pharmacy and former dean of McWhorter School of Pharmacy.