Posted by William Nunnelley on 2011-08-02

Charles R. “Chuck” Malone of Tuscaloosa, Ala., a 1981 graduate of Samford’s Cumberland School of Law, has been named chief justice of the Alabama Supreme Court.  A former Tuscaloosa County presiding circuit judge, Malone was serving as chief of staff to Alabama Governor Robert Bentley, who appointed him chief justice Monday, Aug. 1

            Malone is the first Cumberland graduate to serve as Alabama’s chief justice, according to Cumberland Dean John L. Carroll.

            “Judge Malone brings a perfect balance of judicial and administrative expertise needed for this position,” said Governor Bentley at a news conference introducing the new chief justice.

            A Republican, Malone succeeds Chief Justice Sue Bell Cobb, a Democrat who was elected in 2006 but chose not to run for re-election in 2012.  She resigned earlier this summer, effective July 31.  Malone would face running for the chief justice post next year for a full term beginning in 2013, but said he had not thought of running for re-election.

            Malone, 57, was a lawyer in private practice in Tuscaloosa for 20 years, serving as president of the Tuscaloosa County Bar Association.  He was elected a Tuscaloosa County circuit judge in 2000 and re-elected in 2006.

             The new chief justice has served as an adjunct lecturer at Cumberland and at the University of Alabama, where he earned his undergraduate degree.

            He and his wife, Terri, are parents of two adult children.  The Malones are members of First Baptist Church of Tuscaloosa.




About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.