Posted by William Nunnelley on 2011-06-22

Eight students in Samford University’s McWhorter School of Pharmacy earned national Leadership Training Certificates from the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP).

            The students are Hayley Graham, Mobile, Ala.; Erin Gibbs, Selma, Ala.;  Autumn Bagwell, Clarksville, Tenn.; Kristen Phillips, Auburn, Ala.; Maggee Oliver, Albertville, Ala.; Lauren Garrett, Trussville, Ala.; Christian Conley, Oviedo, Fla.; and Jessica Collins, Helena, Ala.

            Each of the students completed a four-part series of activities at APhA training sessions over four years to develop their leadership potential in the field of pharmacy.  They will receive their certificates at the first APhA-ASP meeting in the fall of 2011.

            “Completion of the program is a testament of the dedication each of these students has toward becoming outstanding leaders for the pharmacy profession,” said Dee Dugan, assistant professor of pharmacy and co-advisor of the Samford APhA-ASP chapter.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.