Posted by Sean Flynt on 2011-09-21

Samford has announced that Dr. Kathryn Fouse, Professor of Music, will serve as Associate Dean for the Division of Music in the university's School of the Arts, starting with the 2011 fall semester.

"Dr. Fouse brings significant experience in administration and faculty leadership to this position," said School of the Arts dean Joseph Hopkins.  "She is an accomplished performer of extraordinary ability and range.  In only her first weeks as Associate Dean for Music she has infused energy and direction to an already successful program."

Fouse holds bachelors, masters and doctoral degrees in piano performance from Baylor University, Southern Illinois University and the University of North Texas. Before joining Samford's faculty in 2002 she served on the faculties of the University of North Texas, Texas Wesleyan University, Collin County Community College and Lon Morris College.

Fouse maintains an active career as a virtuoso pianist and a professional accompanist. In addition to her solo performances, she She has collaborated with such artists as Timofei Dokschidzer, Edward H. Tarr, David Bilger, Ronald Barron, James Thompson, Vincent diMartino, Leonard Candelaria, Andrei Ikov, Steven Mead, and Dale Underwood.  She has served as staff accompanist for many international competitions and festivals including conferences of the International Trumpet Guild; the North American Saxophone Alliance; the European Trumpet Days; the Moscow International Trumpet Competition and Festival; and the prestigious ARD International Trumpet Competition in Munich, Germany.  In 1996, Dr. Fouse was awarded the Marian Bowker Davidson Accompanying Award by Mu Phi Epsilon to travel to Saratov, Russia to participate in the first Vassily Brandt International Trumpet Solo Competition and Festival.

Fouse's expertise in American piano music of the 20th century has resulted in lecture-recitals at such prestigious institutions as the University of Illinois, Baylor University, the Dallas Art Museum, Gothenburg University and the Norwegian State Academy of Music.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.