Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2011-09-15


Samford University’s Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing will honor 15 alumni during its annual Courage to Care awards gala Friday, Sept. 16.

The honorees were nominated for their adherence to the maxims of the school’s namesake, the late Ida V. Moffett.  The revered nursing educator was noted for her statement: “It takes courage to care, to open the heart and act with sympathy and compassion.”

The award recipients all hold degrees from the School of Nursing or its forerunner, Birmingham Baptist Hospital.  They represent a variety of specialties within the nursing profession. Each will receive an inscribed plaque presented by School of Nursing Dean Dr. Nena F. Sanders.

This year’s winners are:

Cyndi Sale Bass, staff-certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA), University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital Highlands.

Ashley Bourke, staff nurse, cardiac intensive care unit, St. Vincent’s East, Birmingham.

Angela Smith Collins of Tuscaloosa, Ala., professor, University of Alabama Capstone College of Nursing, and clinical nurse specialist, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Birmingham.

Jackie Dillard, director of emergency services, Brookwood Medical Center, Birmingham.

Linda Goodwin of Ashville, Ala., charge nurse, one-day surgery, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Birmingham.

Mary Mathangani, staff nurse, medical/surgical oncology unit, Trinity Medical Center, Birmingham.

Chris Moore, chief nursing officer and vice president for patient-care services, St. Vincent’s Hospital, Birmingham.

Deborah Morgan, staff nurse, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Birmingham.

William F. Reid, Sr., CRNA, of Tuscaloosa, Ala., president, Ophthalmology Anesthesia Management, LLC.

Marti E. Rogers, of Crestview, Fla., retired nurse, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Birmingham. 

Susan H. Short, nurse practitioner, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Birmingham.

Doran Lewter Stamps, director of risk management and compliance, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Birmingham.

Susan B. Stillwell, of Chandler, Ariz., professor and associate director, Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice, Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation.

Robin Stratton Sutton, charge nurse, surgical intensive care unit, University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital.

Claire Williams, charge nurse, heart transplant intensive care unit, University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital.

The event will also recognize benefactors Princeton Baptist Medical Center, Jo and Robert Kicker, and St. Vincent’s Health System; and patrons Brookwood Medical Center, Paula and Kerry Gossett, Money Family Trust, Gloria and Carl A. Schaefer, and Trinity Medical Center. The generosity of such donors provides vital and appreciated support for nursing student scholarships.

Gala committee members are Barbara Money, chair, and Janet Alexander, Jennifer Coleman, Jackie Davis, Beverly Hyche, Gretchen McDaniel, Susan Sheffield and Katie Stripling.

The dinner and awards presentation will be in Samford’s Pete Hanna Center.