Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2011-03-03


Veteran pastor and ministry leader Earl Palmer will present this year’s William E. Conger, Jr., Lectures on Biblical Preaching, sponsored by Samford University’s Beeson Divinity School, March 8-10.

Palmer, who heads Earl Palmer Ministries and is pastor emeritus of University Presbyterian Church in Seattle, Wash., will give four presentations, all in A. Gerow Hodges Chapel. The public is invited free of charge.

Times and topics are:  Tuesday, March 8, 11 a.m., “Telling the Truth in a Hard Time,” based on passages from Acts chapters 11 and 14; Wednesday, March 9, 11 a.m., “There is One Shepherd: The Bible and the Barmen Declaration of 1934,” and 1 p.m., “A New Answer to an Old Question,” based on Matthew 20:20-28; Thursday, March 10, 11 a.m., “The Enduring Faithfulness,” based on Matthew 28 and Luke 12.

A by-reservation luncheon with the speaker will be at noon on Wednesday. Luncheon tickets are $7.50 per person.

Since retiring as senior pastor of the Seattle church in 2006, Dr. Palmer has headed Earl Palmer Ministries, which encourages pastors and laity in discipleship and service as followers of Jesus Christ in today’s world. He is the author of 17 books, including his latest, Trusting God (2006).

The Conger lecture series, held each spring, seeks to recapture the vision of preaching ministry.

For information or for luncheon reservations, call (205) 726-2731 or check the website at


About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.