Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2012-01-20


The Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame seeks nominations for its 2012 induction class. Deadline for nominations is March 15.

The Hall of Fame recognizes men who are native to or are identified closely with the state of Alabama, and who have made significant contributions on a state, national or international scale.  Nominees must have been deceased for at least two years.

Established by the State of Alabama in 1987, the Hall of Fame is housed in Harwell G. Davis Library at Samford University.

To date, 67 men have been honored with induction into the Hall of Fame.  Honorees include Wynton M. “Red” Blount, George Washington Carver, William Crawford Gorgas, the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Raphael Sims, Joseph Wheeler and Tom Bevill. Former U.S. senator Howell Heflin was inducted in 2011.

A nomination form and a list of all current members are available on the Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame website.

Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee designated by the Hall of Fame board. The committee’s recommendations and a list of all nominees will be submitted to the full board for a final vote in April.  The induction ceremony and luncheon will be in Birmingham in September.

Nominations must be postmarked by March 15, 2012, and mailed to: Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 292307, Samford University, Birmingham, AL 35229.

For more information, contact Hall of Fame staff member Annette Green at (205) 879-3935.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.