Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2012-03-26

Longtime Samford University education professor Dr. Raymond L. King died March 21, 2012.

He retired in 2007 after 35 years on the undergraduate and graduate faculties of Samford's Orlean Bullard Beeson School of Education and Professional Studies. He was named professor emeritus upon retirement. Prior to joining Samford, he was an elementary school teacher, principal and assistant superintendent in Florida and Alabama public schools.

Dr. King, a graduate of Woodlawn High School, held a bachelor's degree in education from Samford, a master's in school administration from Vanderbilt University's Peabody College, and a doctorate in school administration from the University of Alabama. He was a dedicated supporter and board member of the annual Kenny Morgan golf tournament and banquet that raises money for Samford scholarships.

Former school of education colleague Dr. David Little recalls that Dr. King had four deep loves in his life: "His beautiful wife Barbara and their children and grandchildren, his many friends and thousands of former students across the southeast, a deep love for fishing, and his total addiction to any Elvis song."




About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.