Posted by Philip Poole on 2012-03-15

By Tully Taylor

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation (NACDS) has awarded Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy student Jessica Collins a $3,000 scholarship to help cover tuition and other course-related costs.

Collins is a fourth-year pharmacy student from Helena, Ala.

Collins used the one-time gift this semester to cover some costs. The award was not only helpful, but also validated Collins' commitment to her chosen profession.

"I was very honored to receive this award. I have always been passionate about practicing pharmacy in the community and this scholarship recognized that passion," said Collins.

Pharmacy Dean Charles D. Sands III said Collins' many achievements made her the perfect candidate for this scholarship. She was president of Samford's student chapter of the American Pharmacists Association, where she was key in generating more service projects in the community.

"Jessica has distinguished herself in the classroom and in clinical practice, as well as in the professional student organization," said Sands. "For her leadership in these successful endeavors, she is deserving of this award."

Sand also said Collins exemplifies McWhorter School of Pharmacy's vision statement, "preparing pharmacists who transform lives."

Tully Taylor is a senior journalism and mass communication major and a news and feature writer in the Office of Marketing and Communication.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.