Posted by William Nunnelley on 2012-02-01

Dr. Michael Lindsay, author and president of Gordon College in Massachusetts, will be featured in the annual A. Gerow Hodges Lectures in Ethics and Leadership Feb. 15-16 at Samford.

Lindsay, author of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize-nominated book Faith in the Halls of Power, will lead a session entitled “Should Christians Seek Power?” Wednesday, Feb. 15, at 6 p.m. in Bolding Studio.  A reception and book-signing will follow.

He will speak on the topic “Does God Care How I Vote?” Thursday, Feb. 16, at 10 a.m. in Reid Chapel.

Both sessions are open to the public and to students, although the Thursday program is targeted toward students.

Lindsay, a sociologist, is a graduate of Rice, Princeton and Oxford universities.  He is this year completing the PLATINUM Study, the largest interview-based examination of senior organizational leaders—including former Presidents Carter and Bush and hundreds of CEOs at the nation’s largest corporations and nonprofits.

He taught at Rice from 2006 until 2011, when he was named the eighth president of Gordon.

The Hodges Lectures are sponsored by the Frances Marlin Mann Center for Ethics and Leadership at Samford.


About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.