Published on May 1, 2012 by Philip Poole  

Twenty-six Samford University nursing students received awards April 27 during the annual awards day program sponsored by Samford’s Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing.

Lindsay Robinson from Tupelo, Miss., received the academic achievement award as the first semester senior with the highest grade point average. Lindsey Terry of Vestavia Hills, Ala., received the same award as the graduate student with the highest GPA.

Molly Coplin of Demopolis, Ala., received the Ida V. Moffett Caring Award from Baptist Health System as the senior student who “demonstrates an exceptional and consistent caring attitude in providing care for patients and their families.”

Michelle Atkinson, a doctor of nursing practice student from Carthage, Miss., received the Elizabeth Calhoun Memorial Award, also funded by Baptist Health System, as the graduate student who “exemplifies the highest professional qualities and a commitment to nursing.”

Four students enrolled in adult health class received scholarships funded through Baptist Health Foundation. All three scholarships go to junior students with at least a 3.5 GPA. Caroline Smith from Birmingham received the Lucy Jarrell Estes Memorial Scholarship. The Marion A. Marx Nursing Scholarship went to Anna Jankowski of Gardendale, Ala. Megan Bryant of Birmingham and Taylor Jordan, an accelerated second degree nursing student from Baton Rouge, La., received Ida V. Moffett Memorial Scholarships.

Irene Cantu, a senior from McCalla, Ala., received the student life award, which is presented to a student who “has demonstrated peer-collegiality as a mentor to other students” through active participation in the Samford University Association of Nursing Students.

Courtney McAlister, a senior from Kingston Springs, Tenn., received the Christian Leadership Award, given to the student who “exhibits servant-leader behaviors that exemplify the caring philosophy of the Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing.”

L. Steve Knighten, a family nurse practitioner graduate student from Rainbow City, Ala., received the Alumni Association Award. The award goes to a graduate student “committed to preparation as an advanced practice nurse.”

The Don R. Craft Nursing Award was presented to Kelley Dyar, a graduate student from Douglasville, Ga., as the student who “has demonstrated excellence in the art and science of nursing.”

The Sigma Theta Tau International Award, given to the graduating baccalaureate student with the highest Samford GPA, went to Emily Page of Denton, Texas. Sigma Theta Tau is the international nursing honor society.

Three students received Mrs. T. M. (Kathryn) Hodge Scholarships, presented to students who “demonstrate academic excellence, leadership and a Christian witness:” Jessica Smith, a junior from Greenville, S.C., Brian Harrison, a second degree nursing student from Colorado Springs, Colo., and Rachel Stark, a second degree student from Auburn, Ala.

Three students received Lucille Stewart Beeson Nursing Awards: Crystal Wade, a junior from Gardendale, Ala., Ashleigh McIntosh, a graduate student in nurse anesthesia from Chelsea, Ala., and Rhonda Bowen, a doctor of nursing practice student from Winfield, Ala. Recipients must be in the top 5 percent of their classes and “demonstrate leadership, service, academic excellence and Christian witness.”

Alicia Phillips of Pell City received the Rebecca Lawson Horn Award, presented to the graduate senior selected by peer vote for “outstanding nursing practice.” Candace Gullung of Birmingham received the Funderburg Award, presented to a student in the graduate nurse anesthesia program. Two doctor of nursing practice students received the Nena F. Sanders Scholarship: Enos Ngetich of Birmingham and Clara Rustin of West Point, Miss. Justin Carroll of Birmingham received the Theresa Culpepper Award, presented to a graduate nurse anesthesia student.

Anna Beth Shelton, a sophomore from Vestavia Hills, Ala., received the Head Family Missions Award, presented to a student who “demonstrates prior commitment to missions” and based on an essay submitted by the student about his or her previous involvement in missions.

Brandi Carbonie of Birmingham received the LeeAnna Grace Cunningham Family Nurse Practitioner Award, presented to an FNP student with “demonstrated commitment to serving others, particularly those with special needs.”

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.