Samford University's McWhorter School of Pharmacy has received full accreditation through June of 2017 for its Doctor of Pharmacy program by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the national agency for accreditation of professional degree programs in pharmacy.

The extension of Samford's Doctor of Pharmacy accreditation means its pharmacy degree program has been accredited continuously since 1940.

Samford's pharmacy school enrolls about 500 students.  The school is known for its intentional emphasis on student and faculty service, consistent with its vision of "Preparing Pharmacists who Transform Lives."

"McWhorter graduates are held in extremely high regard, and are well-known for their leadership in healthcare," said Michael D. Hogue, interim dean.  "The program boasts over 4,000 living alums, many of whom are independent pharmacy owners, chain pharmacy managers, hospital pharmacy directors, entrepreneurs and leaders in other areas of healthcare. We pride ourselves in preparing pharmacists who are leaders in the industry and in their communities."

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.