Published on July 1, 2013 by Philip Poole  

Beginning this month, Samford University's Offices of Parent Programs and Admission are working to bring the Samford community together in 17 different cities.

Through Samford send-off parties, incoming freshman and their families are able to make Samford connections in their area before they arrive on campus in August, according to Elizabeth Primm, Samford's director of campus visit  programs.  The events give students the chance to interact with future classmates and learn more about their first year at Samford.

Students and families become acquainted with other new Bulldogs from their area and often get to meet Samford alumni in their area. University representatives also attend each event.

The parties began July 14 in Chattanooga, Tenn.,  and continue through the Aug. 10 event in Birmingham.

To learn more about times and locations or to register for these events, go to  samford.edu/parents/send-off-parties/.

The schedule:

Chattanooga, Tenn. 

Monday, July 14

Knoxville, Tenn.        

Tuesday, July 15

Mandeville, La.          

Thursday, July 17

Los Angeles, Calif.

Friday, July 18

Nashville, Tenn.        

Monday, July 21

Huntsville, Ala.          

Tuesday, July 22

Houston, Texas        

Thursday, July 24

Mobile, Ala.

Thursday, July 24

Tampa, Fla.   

Monday, July 28

Orlando, Fla.

Tuesday, July 29

Atlanta, Ga.    

Thursday, July 31

Charlotte, N.C.           

Monday, August 4

Memphis, Tenn.

Monday, August 4

Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas   

Tuesday, Aug. 5

Austin, Texas

Wednesday, Aug. 6

Jackson, Miss.

Thursday, Aug. 7

Birmingham, Ala.      

Sunday, Aug. 10

 

 
About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.