Published on July 1, 2013 by Philip Poole  

Beginning this month, Samford University's Offices of Parent Programs and Admission are working to bring the Samford community together in 17 different cities.

Through Samford send-off parties, incoming freshman and their families are able to make Samford connections in their area before they arrive on campus in August, according to Elizabeth Primm, Samford's director of campus visit  programs.  The events give students the chance to interact with future classmates and learn more about their first year at Samford.

Students and families become acquainted with other new Bulldogs from their area and often get to meet Samford alumni in their area. University representatives also attend each event.

The parties began July 14 in Chattanooga, Tenn.,  and continue through the Aug. 10 event in Birmingham.

To learn more about times and locations or to register for these events, go to  samford.edu/parents/send-off-parties/.

The schedule:

Chattanooga, Tenn. 

Monday, July 14

Knoxville, Tenn.        

Tuesday, July 15

Mandeville, La.          

Thursday, July 17

Los Angeles, Calif.

Friday, July 18

Nashville, Tenn.        

Monday, July 21

Huntsville, Ala.          

Tuesday, July 22

Houston, Texas        

Thursday, July 24

Mobile, Ala.

Thursday, July 24

Tampa, Fla.   

Monday, July 28

Orlando, Fla.

Tuesday, July 29

Atlanta, Ga.    

Thursday, July 31

Charlotte, N.C.           

Monday, August 4

Memphis, Tenn.

Monday, August 4

Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas   

Tuesday, Aug. 5

Austin, Texas

Wednesday, Aug. 6

Jackson, Miss.

Thursday, Aug. 7

Birmingham, Ala.      

Sunday, Aug. 10

 

#####
About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.