Posted by Philip Poole on 2014-05-13

Three Samford University students - Ashley Martin, Victoria Rogers and Paige Toulon -- will be featured on a segment of "Life on the Rock" on the Eternal Word Television Network (EWTN) that begins airing May 16.


The May 16 show airs at 7 p.m. CT. Additional airings are May 18 at 10 p.m. CT and May 20 at 8 a.m. Viewers should check local listings for the channel carrying EWTN.

"Life on the Rock" is a "dynamic, Christ-centered, youth-oriented talk show" and is one of the top-rated shows on EWTN, according to David Clark, a spokesperson for the EWTN Global Catholic Network. EWTN is based in the Birmingham suburb of Irondale.

The segment was taped in April, and the students, who all are active with Samford's Catholic Student Association, discussed a wide range of topics including the Sam Not Stan marketing campaign, religious life on campus and several academic programs.

Martin is a senior journalism and mass communication major. Rogers and Toulon are senior nursing majors. They are among the 166 Samford students who list Catholic as their religious preference.

Clark said the segment should be posted to the network's YouTube channel soon after it airs.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.