Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2015-01-21

The Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame seeks nominations by March 15 for its 2015 induction class.

The Hall of Fame annually recognizes men who are native Alabamians or who are closely identified with the state.  Nominees must have made significant contributions on a state, national or international scale, and have been deceased for at least two years.

Housed in Samford University’s Harwell G. Davis Library, the Hall of Fame was established by the State of Alabama in 1987.

Thus far, 73 men who represent many professions, callings, spheres of influence and generations have been honored. Baptist educator/pastor Norman Henry “John” McCrummen II and United Methodist Church minister/denominational leader Clare Purcell were honored in 2014. Previous honorees also include such notables as George Washington Carver, Thomas E. Corts, William Crawford Gorgas, Howell Heflin, Martin Luther King, Jr., Wernher Von Braun and Joseph Wheeler.

Bronze plaques recognizing all honorees are displayed on the third floor of the Samford library.

Nominations are reviewed by a selection committee and the AMHF Board of directors.  The formal induction ceremony and luncheon is held annually in September in Birmingham.

More information is available at 

Nominations must be postmarked no later than March 15, 2015, and mailed to Alabama Men’s Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 292307, Samford University, Birmingham, AL 35229.  For more information, contact AMHF board executive secretary Annette Green at (205) 879-3935 or email



About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.