Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2015-03-09

Samford University will observe Women’s History Month with a series of programs. The events, sponsored by Samford’s Office of Diversity and Intercultural Initiatives, are free and open to the public.

“Cultural Conversations” will be the topic of a panel discussion Monday, March 9, at Harry’s Coffeehouse in Beeson University Center.  Panelists are assistant athletics director for student services Harold Goss and students Laura Ann Prickett and Mallory Smith.  Samford Student Government Association chaplain Will Yarborough will moderate. The program is co-sponsored by the Samford SGA.

University convocations on March 10 and March 24 will feature Samford staff members Christina Harris and April Robinson, respectively.

Harris, football academic coordinator, will speak on the topic “Loosed from Fear: God’s Protection,” based on Psalm 91.

Robinson, minister to students, will speak on Psalm 73, which relates how honesty with God can be a path to humility and assurance of God’s promises and purposes for all creation.

A Lunch and Learn on Thursday, March 26, will feature sociology professor Theresa Davidson speaking on “Women’s Issues or Everyone’s Issues? A Call to Action.”  Davidson’s areas of specialization include gender studies and social class and inequality. Registration is required for the 11:30 a.m. event in the Howard Room. 


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.