send off party
Posted by Philip Poole on 2015-06-10

By John Dickson

Samford University's Offices of Parent Programs and Admission are working to bring new members of the Samford community together in 17 different cities across the U.S. 

The Samford send-off parties allow incoming freshman and their families to make Samford connections in their area before they arrive on campus in August, according to Susan Doyle, Samford’s director of parent programs. The events serve as a good opportunity for the students to interact with future classmates and also to learn more about their first year at Samford. 

“Our main goal is connect students and families to other students and families in their area,” said Doyle. A student knowing as many people as possible on their first day was also one of Doyle’s main hopes for these events.

Students and families become acquainted with fellow new Bulldogs from their area and often get to meet Samford alumni who have since relocated to the area. University representatives will also be attending each event. 

The parties begin July 12 in Mandeville, Louisiana, and wrap up Aug. 8 with the party in Chattanooga, Tennessee. 

To learn more about times and locations or to register for these events, go to: www.samford.edu/parents/send-off-parties

The schedule: 

Mandeville, Louisiana
Sunday, July 12 

Mobile, Alabama
Monday, July 13 

Memphis, Tennessee
Wednesday, July 15 

Houston, Texas
Thursday, July 16 

Tupelo, Mississippi
Thursday, July 16 

Austin, Texas
Friday, July 17 

Dallas, Texas
Saturday, July 18 

Los Angeles, California
Sunday, July 19 

Nashville, Tennessee
Wednesday, July 22 

Louisville, Kentucky
Thursday, July 23 

Huntsville, Alabama
Friday, July 24 

Atlanta, Georgia
Tuesday, July 28 

Montgomery, Alabama
Wednesday, July 29 

Tampa, Florida
Monday, Aug. 3 

Orlando, Florida
Tuesday, Aug. 4 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Friday, Aug. 7 

Chattanooga, Tennessee

Saturday, Aug. 8 

John Dickson is a news and feature writer in the Office of Marketing and Communication.

 
About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.