Published on December 2, 2015 by Aly Hathcock  
PRSSA logo news.JPG

The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) honored Samford with its Star Chapter Award at its national conference in November.

Each year, the award recognizes approximately 10 percent of chapters nationally that meet comprehensive programming, community outreach, scholarship and national governance participation goals.

The honor came after a rigorous application process begun in 2014 by alumna Michaela Ressor ’15, then president of Samford’s PRSSA chapter. Asia Burns, a sophomore journalism and mass communication major from Alpharetta, Georgia, and the only chapter officer returning this year, was on-hand when the award was announced. When Burns heard Samford’s name called in the second round of awards, she wondered for a moment if the announcer had meant to say “Stanford.” Samford’s chapter is relatively small, and this was its first application for the award. There was no mistake, though. Samford earned the honor in its first attempt.

“The Samford PRSSA chapter is active, and strives to offer a well-rounded and informative professional experience for its members, and this award attests to that,” journalism and mass communication professor and chapter adviser Betsy Emmons said.

The PRSSA is the foremost organization for students interested in public relations and communication, with more than 11,000 students and advisers organized into 300-plus chapters in the United States, Argentina, Colombia and Peru.

Aly Hathcock is a journalism and mass communication major and a news and feature writer in the Office of Marketing and Communication.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.