Published on October 20, 2016 by Sean Flynt  

Samford University will host the acclaimed British one-man play, Mr. Darwin’s Tree, Friday Oct. 28, at 7 p.m. in Harrison Theatre. The play explores the life and work of Charles Darwin and his impact on science and religion.

The professional production, written by Murray Watts and acted by Andrew Harrison, premiered at Westminster Abbey and has been performed at the Edinburgh Festival, King’s Head Theatre in London, as well as at Oxford, Cambridge, St. Andrews, and many other universities, colleges, and theatres in the UK. The play toured the U.S. in spring, 2016, and is touring college campuses this fall.

The Samford performance (approximately 75 minutes) will be followed by a 30 minute panel discussion and Q&A with the audience. A reception will follow in the foyer of Harrison Theatre.

Tickets for Samford students, employees and spouses are free at the Samford box office (726-2853). All other tickets are $10 at the box office or online at

Mr. Darwin’s Tree is sponsored by the Science and Religion Club, the Center for Science and Religion, and the Theatre Department. It is produced by Scholarship & Christianity In Oxford, the UK Centre of the Council for Christian Colleges & Universities, and underwritten by the Templeton Religion Trust.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.